Looking Back

This week has been especially hard for me. It could be due to quite a few things but I’m going to take the easy way out and blame hormones for the most part. Now I was going to make this first blog about a couple depressing topics but I’ll save those for a rainy day because it’s Easter. (By the time I get done writing this it won’t be Easter any more but deal with it.) Easter has a whole new meaning for me this year. I always knew it was when we celebrated Jesus Christ atoning for our sins and his resurrection, I’m just not sure if I fully understood what that really meant until now.

As some of you know I have never held a temple recommend in my life until this past March. I had been inactive for a long time and was crazy nervous to even start going back to church because I am pregnant. I felt a bit like Hester Prin from the Scarlet letter. But my scarlet letter was my stomach slowly getting bigger. And I didn’t technically get paraded around but sat by myself for weeks and didn’t really talk to people. I honestly thought no one would accept me or want to be my friend. I can’t believe how wrong I was. I started talking to the bishop and starting my repentance process. It was hard, and it still is. There are some things I have yet to do and get over.

 The moment I knew I was on the right path was when I walked through the Gilbert Temple. It was in the Celestial room and I had an overwhelming feeling that, This is true, Families are forever, You can have this, and you will have this. Tears formed in my eyes as I realized that this was what I desired. I wanted to get married in the temple and be sealed for time and all eternity. The only way to be able to do that was to keep talking to the bishop and gain a Temple Recommend. It’s been a long road and it’s certainly not over but I am so glad to finally have a recommend in my wallet. It’s kind of a big deal to me.

I am so grateful for the savior this holiday season and his sacrifice that he made for us so that we are able to repent when needed. I am also grateful for all the new friends in my life that have accepted my slowly getting fatter self, and my amazing family that I have here. Every one has been so supportive and I’m not sure if I could have accomplished this much with out all the help I have received. My path to getting a temple recommend has truly been an eye-opening experience and one I am eternally grateful for. I never used to take repentance seriously, But Oh what a wonderful feeling it is to have the weight of a sin lifted from you and know that you are loved. That He knows you. That He wants you to come back and live with Him again.

I hope you all had a wonderful Easter, however you celebrate! Here’s a cool video for those who wish to watch.http://easter.mormon.org/?cid=HPTU041514694  The link tool isn’t working so you’ll have to copy and paste it in a separate tab. First world problems. Sorry.

 

 

 

Leave a comment